fuel pump internals upgrade 101

cghms3

:
2009 mazda mazdaspeed 3 metro grey
I have a 09 mazdaspeed3 with mscai, mscatback exhaust, Hypertech tune, sure rmm, and ms coilovers. I've read in other threads that the fuel pump is a weak link, and many have upgraded the internals, and I understand that there
are two fuel pumps. I don't know anything about this mod. 1) Which fuel pump (and where) is upgraded. 2) what companies make the internal upgrades, and how do I find them 3) I won't even try to do it, I will have a shop do the job. 3) How do I know if and when my fuel pump is failing - I don't want to ruin my engine, I do run the car hard sometimes. Thanks!

1. There is one in the actual gas tank and one on top of the engine. you are upgraging the one on the engine
2. KMD and AutoTech make the internals that you just replace. CP-e has a whole new pump that you install and send your back to get some money back. I have heard that AutoTech are the best though(value and reliability)
3. The only way to know if it is failing is to monitor fuel pressure. I am not sure if the Hypertech can do that but i know the Cobb AccessPort can. You need the fuel pressure to be at or around 1600 psi or you could be headed to engine failure.

Personally i think you are fine where you are now with your mods. The gen1 can take more bolt-ons before they need the internals. If you want to do a downpipe then you will need internals. I personally would also sell the hypertech and buy a Cobb AP, the gains are alot better/manageable and it lets you monitor a lot more and can be hooked up to a computer to download logs.

I would say just get it. I only have a TIP and short ram and I'm going to get the internals before I go into big mods. Just a Peace of Mind.