What should I do to my P5? Any P5's in LA/OC County?

:
2002 Protege5
Hey folks!

I recently acquired a 2002 Protege5 from my brother. Automatic, 90K miles. I haven't done anything to it yet, all stock. I have been told that I should look into getting an AEM intake, Racing Beat exhaust, BC coilovers for suspension.

1) Does anyone have any other tips/advice for parts?

2) Is anyone around the LA/OC County area that wouldn't mind helping out and sharing valuable information about good shops, meet-ups, parts installation,etc? I'm a complete amateur and would love to learn more.

I'm in the Rowland Heights/Fullerton area a lot.

Thanks for your time friends!

If the antenna is cracking around the base or if you just want to update the look, replace that antenna with an Acura RDX one or a short Mazda one. The former is cheaper and a great fit. That's the only "mod" I've done on my '03. :) Well, that and I removed the crossbars on the roof rack. Other than that, keep your old parts so that you can put them back on for the next owner who may love buying an all stock vehicle.

My to do list on my stock '03:

VTCS removal, and clean EGR and put thread lock on VICS screws while I'm in there
new shifter bushings
fix ac flickering on fan speeds 2 and 3
new antenna
maybe replace trans fluid
edit: also replace wiper stalk with one from a few models (MPV, certain years Escape/Tribute, probably a lot more) to get the continuously-adjustable wiper timing feature. Just plug the new one in. Piece of cake, I'm told.

If you want to go fast, your most cost-effective options are wheels/tires, weight removal, cool air intake, vtcs removal, mp3 ecu.

Last edited:
Hey dude, I'm local to you in Claremont (north of Pomona). Let me know if you're open to Injen cold air intake and Mazdaspeed exhaust for the P5. I sold the car but the parts are still in my garage.