What is the max the water temp should be?

jscott

:
03 spicy orange MSP
I'm wondering what the max temp should reach in our MSP's...i'm not sure if my water temp gauge is accuratelly reading

I had a scan tool hooked up last night on the way home and it reached 230, the dash gauge was right on the middle (normal) range but I thought 230 was high.....this was after sitting and idleing for about 10 mins to get gas and adjust tire pressure....once I got going it dropped to 226 and bounced from there and 228....I blasted the heat the rest of the way home just cause I was worried that might be a little high (i'm a cadillac mechanic and i'm used to the northstar not going past 190)

you know i bet this is how these car blow. they over heat and we just blame the turbo setup. If i remember right thats the same issue with the old school jags they all get head problems because the radiator is under size.

My fans were on....CHIQLES, thats prolly right, the crappy thing is the gauge (though stock) wasn't reading hot...it was dead nuts middle....I don't even know why I had the tool hooked up and reading data but I'm glad I was....that makes me want a true water temp gauge now....do you know what normal temp is on these? i'm guessing right around 200 though

Not certain what the temp is but my gauge has always gone right to just below the exact middle. The stock radiator is great at doing its job. So are the fans. As long as you have a T-stat that is OEM or made in Japan, then I would not worry too much about what the scan tool said. Afterall you have a hot exhaust manifold and turbo hanging on your block. I've blown a head gasket once in my other turbo Mazda. So far with 95K+ miles in this one I have had zero cooling issues.