radiator leakage?

r0adie4950

:
2002 mazda protege 5, 2.0L
i recently had a new radiator installed by the dealer and after several weeks i opened up the hood and i noticed that the reservoir was empty and the radiator itself had to be topped off, there is a small hose coming off the radiator that had come loose and i pushed it back on and filled the radiator/reservoir but when i went to check the radiator the next day the radiator had to be topped off again.

i took the car back to the dealer and had them try to find out the problem, so they said they did a pressure check and nothing was leaking but also installed a small clamp to the small hose (I'm pretty sure there was no clamp there before), i checked the radiator later tonight and i see that the radiator is not as full as this morning when i topped it off, any hints as to what is going on?

well, I'm no auto pro (*cough* no DL even lol) but it sounds like when you got the rad installed, the dealership forgot to connect the reservoir hose. They likely just installed the radiator, filled it up, and filled up the (they didn't know unhooked) reservoir which leaked out everything they poured in it (the reservoir).

When you top off the radiator the first time, there is still a lot of trapped air in it. Once you run it for a couple minutes the air floats to the top of the radiator, where the reservoir will continuously top it off (via the tube) until it's completely topped. In your case, the reservoir tube was never put on, so the air was never replaced by coolant. That explains why your car swallowed all the coolant in the reservoir when you connected the tube and filled the res (ALL the air in the loop accumulated to the top of your radiator over a period of several weeks).