Knock Retard at WOT..

jonapod

:
MS3 Black Mica
OK folks - I have an 08.5 MS3, MS CAI, AP running v1.05 MSCAI 93. Running 93 octane.

After a reflash i consistently get 1-4 KR on WOT, and several times I have had audible knock (nailbyt) ..
AFR's are in the high 12's, LTFT is 10-15.

After a learning period, it settles down with occasional KR but still with AFR in the 12's..

I need to check I don't have a leak on the intake side - any other suggestions please..?

I have a similar but lesser experience even with the stock tune, so I don't think it's the accessport.

-jc

Those LTFT's are way too high. 1 - 8 is considered "safe". What intake is it exactly? and does it have an air straightener? I'm not an expert by any means but something needs to be done. Hoping people with more experience will speak up. I would definitely suggest calibrating your MAF using the ATR instructions. In the meantime you could try running the 91 map and see if that helps at all.

I agree the LTFT are too high - it's Mazda CAI w/ straighter - installed when i bought it new.
I tried the 91 map without any real difference which makes me think it might be intake related. oh, and i installed DENSO ITV22 Iridium plugs today, which don't seem to have helped!

Last edited:
just curious....... whats knock retard?

Knock Retard is when the ECU detects knock or pre-knock conditions(detonation) in a cylinder, retards the timing and adds fuel to protect the engine.

Knock can be caused by a number of things - lean fuel ratio, bad plugs, oil/gunk in the intake.

Look up 'engine knock' on wikipedia for more information.

Was it knocking before you got your AP ??? Many people claim the "stock" AP map isn't quite the same as the map you had before the ap.

Those ltft's are high and your A/F is way lean.

Try some different maps. check mzdspd.com

Problem solved!

I have no air straightener!!

I pulled the CAI apart and presto - no straightener..