Is this a good deal or should i stay away from this car?

ChosenOne

So I've been looking for a MS3 for a while now and one came up fairly close to me its a 2008 sport with around 30k miles on it with a clean title. The problem with it is that the computer ecu needs to be replaced i guess its going bad and the brakes need to be replaced as well other than that it looks to be mechanically okay, not 100% though. I had a mechanic look it over and test drive it he said the motor looked okay and drove fine. My major issue is with the body of the car there are several pretty bad scratches and dents. The front fender looks like it was keyed and there is a chip about the size of a dime. There is a large dent on the right rear and right front passenger doors that are pretty deep and followed by a scratch down the car. Also the bumper looks like it was scratched against a curb or something. So I've been told i may need to repaint the whole car by some and others said most of the damage can be repaired without a full repaint. Not sure on what to do there. Anyway he says he will go down to 11k is that too much for a car that will need pretty extensive body work and a little mechanical work? He said the issue with the ECU has been like that for a while now and just never had the cash to repair it, the dealership quoted him 1500, but can running the car like with a faulty ecu cause further problems? He says the car will idle oddly and you need to turn the car off to reset the computer and when you start the car up it will go back to normal he went to a couple of mechanics and they said it was the computer. But in the end is it too much money for the car? Also it had me thinking in 30k miles the ecu fried and there is that much damage he had to drive the car pretty hard but again i don't know the guy so cant be sure. Thanks.

Last edited:
Me personally I would stay away from it, sounds like there is too much to have to mess with there.