header advice..>>>

zoom-zoom

:
2003 protege5
hey everyone, i need your advice because i am installing my obx header this weekend, i have never done it before. and i have readed the how-to on how to install it, and it seems pretty easy and straight forward and i alredy got the spark plug non fouler ready so i can put it on so i wont have the CEL problem. does any one have any advice they can give me that might make the job easier or any it advice that will help me to make sure i am installing it right, i would apreatiated if guys can help me out..

#1 PB BLASTER FOR HEADER TO MIDPIPE BOLTS...And let it soak, re-apply, and let it soak some more...for about an hour...

-Anti-sieze on the header bolts.

-Don't over-torque

-When aligning and and threading the EGR tube to the header, leave the header bolts somewhat loose to allow for some adjustment and fitament issues...After you have the EGR started on the header...Tighten the header bolts..Personally I chose from the inside out...

-If things get really hairy with the EGR, be ready to pull the intake out entirely and loosen the EGR tube from the Intake Manifold...This is sometimes an issue and sometimes absolutely nothing of a problem...Just be prepared...

-Bringing the header up from under the car may be easier, with someone helping, than dropping it in from the top...

-Have a couple twist ties to secure the O2 wires away from excessive heat.

-Before you start revving the engine and listening to the sweetness of the exhaust...Wipe the entire header down with an degreaser...like rubbing alchohol, or something...That way it will get a nice patina...not all fingered up...and it will help prevent rusting in the future from contaminants.

Last edited: