Gas Miles remaining very inaccurate

dradams13

:
2014 Mazda3s GT
I am not sure if this is the correct forum or not, hopefully I can find the right place if not.

Obviously gas mileage varies based on the type of driver you are, whether you drive in the city or on the open road, and whether or not you push the shiny sport button, but one thing I have found is that when the gas idiot light comes on at about 30 miles remaining, I can drive about 100 more miles or so before I feel like I am empty. I have a SGT, which says it has a 13.5 gallon (US) fuel tank. I get about 300 miles per tank city driving, and I am a fairly aggressive driver in the city of Chicago, and I like to open it up when I am on Lake Shore Drive or an open highway.

At first I would let it run to zero and fill up, but I was noticing that I was only putting about 11.5+/- gallons in the tank, which would mean about 2 gallons still in the tank at "0" and if you believe the average MPG displayed would mean there was at a minimum 50 miles left before empty. Then I would put the trip OD on and drive for about 50 miles and fill up and I was still about 1 gallon safe. The most I have pushed it is 70 miles after "zero". I have never and would never purposely run the car dry, so there isn't a lock solid control for distance, but it seems very inaccurate. I never really had this problem with my other Mazda3sGT, the 2011 I had. The mileage was pretty accurate from what I remember. My '14 has a smaller tank and better mileage, but I seem to have the same range. I don't get it.

Anyone have any thoughts?

That's nothing new really. On the 06 GT it wasn't accurate either. For that matter, I don't recall any onboard system to be accurate. I have driven at least 50 MPG more when the system said I had 0 left, both on the previous generation Mazda3s or the new 2014.