Front Bumper switchout...

02sleeper

:
02 Protege LX
I am looking to swap out my stock front bumper for the Mazdaspeed front bumper, I was wondering what it would take to purchase the bumper and if I could do it myself or take it to a shop and have them replace it, would it require me in getting new headlights bumper mounts??? Thanks

there is a how to in the how to section, I believe it requires a small amount of cutting to the bumper support but from what I read it looked easy enough to do yourself. The write up is well written so you should be ok, other than that I don't know about pricing.

you'll need new reinforcements though unless you figure out some ghettofied way of doing it. I think all together to do a correct conversion would be about $392 , not including paint.

Thanks for the info

I'm new to this so I'll take a look at the how 2 section....Will post pictures of before and after....Carbon fiber hood, rims 17x7 black w/ chrome lip rims, MSP front bumper Underbody L.E.D. green light kit, all coming shortly

Nice man, def. keep us up to date. the underbody isn't my cup of tea, but do it right and it will look good. good luck brother.

You will need a new Bumper Reinforcement (or cut it to fitment)
-Right and Left Splash guards
-upper and lower grills
-the bumper cover

I think that should cover it... not sure about the upper grill but i'm pretty sure since the bumper has a different shape, the grill might not fit

FSCatalyst said:
You will need a new Bumper Reinforcement (or cut it to fitment)
-Right and Left Splash guards
-upper and lower grills
-the bumper cover

I think that should cover it... not sure about the upper grill but i'm pretty sure since the bumper has a different shape, the grill might not fit

you will def need a new upper grill. the rest of the list is correct. i did the switch abt 2 yrs ago. it is not hard and the how-to has all the part numbers you will need down to the last bolt.