Engine Torque Damper kit for MSP?

pomidor

Contributor
:
2003.5 mazdaspeed protege
I've recently replaced my rear mount with a solid urethane one. I'm not enjoying the vibrations now, so I'd like to put the OEM mount back in and use an Engine Torque Damper to limit the engine movement. Ingalls makes these dampers, but they don't have a kit specifically for MSP.

Has anyone ever managed to custom fit an Ingalls one onto the MSP?

Are there any other engine damper kits available? I've come across an old thread here (started in 2006) mentioning one from Weapon-R, but it also says that these kits apparently don't last long (maybe they've gotten better since).

Any thought on this subject would be much appreciated.

tried weapon R engine damper?

I never have. I've never tried any engine damper before. I'm about to, and I want to find out what options I have.

'Weapon - R' seems to be the only one that I could find that has a direct fit for MSP. Like I said originally, there ware some concerns in the old thread I found that W-R ones don't last long. It is an old thread, perhaps W-R quality has improves since. It'd be nice to know what people's experiences are with W-R as of recently, or with another damper that can be customized to fit the MSP.

Anyone using an engine torque damper right now? Tell me what your experiences with it are like.

use weapon R , if it failed, ask for warranty or get something new to fit on the weapon R bracket. (just so u dont have to DIY ur own bracket)

use weapon R , if it failed, ask for warranty or get something new to fit on the weapon R bracket. (just so u dont have to DIY ur own bracket)

Exactly what I was thinking too. The down-side of this is that if W-R fails, getting a different damper, while still utilizing the W-R's bracket, will cost as much as the whole W-R kit itself.