CX-5 Cracked Diff?

KennethPR

2013 CX-5 AWD
Hello guys, I had my car inspected yesterday and I was told and shown that the diff is cracked, the thing is that I see its just a "leg" or mount. Could I have this welded back in place?

Attachments

• IMG_1248.png
    IMG_1248.png
    123.2 KB · Views: 100
  • IMG_1249.png
    IMG_1249.png
    133.9 KB · Views: 93
  • IMG_1250.png
    IMG_1250.png
    107.1 KB · Views: 94
Ouch! I believe that's the first time that we've seen this on the forum. Have you had the CX since new? Any idea what caused this?

I suppose that it could be welded, I'm no expert on welding but I'm sure that one will come along shortly.

What model year is your CX-5 ? There is a TSB on the Cx-9 for cracked diff, not sure about the CX-5, but we can check with your model year. Also, diffs usually fall under the powertrain warranty, so it might still be under warranty.

I actually bought the car used a month ago, its a CX-5 2013 AWD. To be honest it could have been my fault, I went over a speed bump at like 90m/h a few weeks ago, thats the only thing I can think of, or I just got it like that, not sure.

I don't think speed bump will break the mount. Maybe from jacking at the diff? I also don't think welding will be a good solution as you can only weld the outer parameter. I'm no welder so I could be wrong.

I actually bought the car used a month ago, its a CX-5 2013 AWD. To be honest it could have been my fault, I went over a speed bump at like 90m/h a few weeks ago, thats the only thing I can think of, or I just got it like that, not sure.

Well it is very clean underneath for a 2013! But yeah warranty and TSB are not really applicable then.

Where can you drive 90 mph let alone on a road with speed bumps? Speed bumps are usually in developments or side roads with kids around.