About to start paying for my own insurance, need advice

Matt V

:
2002 Mazda Protege5
I'm about to start paying for my own insurance and need advice on what coverage to get. This is for the P5, so full coverage isn't needed but would be nice. Progressive looks to be the cheapest which is what I need considering that I'm a full time college student and just need proof of insurance basically. Their "recommended" package is $92.45 per month or $510.50 for 6 months. Here is the coverage provided under that package:

Progressive said:
Bodily injury - $379
- $50,000 per person
- $100,000 per accident
- $50,000 property damage

Uninsured/underinsured motorist bodily injury - $19
- $50,000 per person
- $100,000 per accident

Uninsured/underinsured motorist property damage - $81
- $50,000 ($250 deductible)

Personal Injury Protection - $31
- $5,000 limit

Comprehensive - $0
- No coverage

Collision - $0
- No coverage

Rental Car Reimbursement - $0
- No coverage

Roadside Assistance - $0
- No coverage

MyRate Program - $0
- Not enrolled

Total: $510 or $92.45 per month.

How does this plan sound? Sounds like it's basic liability to me.

Who all have you looked at...we just insured the Miata through USAA for $27 a month...for me on the P5 is about $900 a year through Travelers with full coverage...

I can't do USAA because I don't have any family in the military, or am I thinking of someone else?

I just checked Geico and they have a plan for $77/month that is one step above basic coverage.

my suggestion is to shop around, call as many local agents as you can. if you own a house, check for multi-policy discounts. sometimes, geico / progressive/ etc. isnt the cheapest.

Shop around is what we did...what is your driving record like...anything that you may be able to add as discounts...