2000 Millenium Edition Millenia ?s

BDSCRPN

:
2000 Mazda Millenia/ Millenium Edition
I'm new to owning a mazda, however have owned a number of varied makes models of most everything else. No stranger to working on any type of engine except this Miller cycle. Really no much of a difference diagnosing or anything but....

...This 2.3 miller cycle is a bit of a puzzler with these know oil burning issues. Question is, any mechanics figure out the cause of the problem or is this a Mazda Engineering issue that they will not share with the general public? I understand the bearing issues with the Lysholm SC, not a problem cause, found the replacement parts through an SC rebuild site. Problem is the time it take to do the work and the seemingly idiotic design in the first place. I'm figuring that the issue stems from infrequent oil changes causing the vacuum lines to clog and pcv and egr valves to malfunction. Thus in turn causing coking of oil in the SC and the oil pan which causes this sc bearing to have blow by due to sludge and 'oil cheese' in them. The graphite bearing seals just can't move correctly and thus oil in the charge air and intake system causing these otherwise amazing engines to foul badly.

Please correct me if I'm wrong or anyone has practical first hand knowledge of these engines. I have a number of other questions about this engine as I would like to 'enhance' the performance. But need to sort out this oil burning issue first. Also is it common for the valve cover gaskets to leak? Cause this one is and unfortunately due to design placement the Alternator is getting doused in oil.

I do have the full gasket kit or this engine already but wanting to see what input I can get and suggestions for better fuel economy and or power output I can find prior to full tear down. ie better pistons heads, blowby valve replacment, exhaust systems, or whatever. Basically find the best course for this car either go economy fuel consumption or can this thing zoom zoom!