01 protege ES CEL Flashing

retd85

Hey guys,

I'm new to this, but i figure real experience a good way to learn.

With that, this is my problem...

I got the car about a week ago used, and since then, it's been giving me hell. After buying the car, i flushed all oil, trans fluid. after running it for a bit, my CEL lights up. after going over all the basics, we found a clogged air filter, and worn-out sparks. after replacing them and reseting the battery the cel was gone. after a day of driving the cel lights up. at first i thought it was only a 02 sensor (since my old intrepid had that problem and i drove it till the breaks gave.) after a few more minutes, the CEL starts to flash, and my engine starts to rattle. as i would try to drive it to the side, when i'm giving gas, it was as it the car wasn't getting any gas. after pulling over, i reset the battery, cel was gone, and i drove it home asap. the next day my dad and i tried to look at the basics again. again cel is gone, and i'm on my way. a few hours later, the problem came back, only this time, the car died on me. any suggestions?

after this post, my dad and i will be replacing the 02 snsor and pcv valve. we wanted to replace the fule filter, but this is alot more different then a 1990 mx-6 gt turbo (i learned alot form that car)

please any thoughts or suggestions would be great. i don't want to bring this to canadian tire (like autozone) and be bringing it there for the rest of it's life...

thanks..

dont just guess on your issues. go to an auto zone or advance auto and have them read the code. then let us know what the code is.

hey guys, i got the codes...

the first one is..

P0300: random/multiple cylinder misfire

and...

P0421: warm-up catalyst efficiency below threshold

any ideas to this?

thanks

random missfires tend to start with coilpacks.

change those out.

also, the other is the o2 sensor. start with the coilpacks, then if that doesn't fix it, do the o2 sensor.