New Rotors, and Pads.

hyck

:
Mazda 3i
Ok, I think I did a pretty good search in Google, and in the forum, and read most of the 120 post Thread "difference between slotted brakes and drilled brakes," which was real cool, but still couldn't find out from where to buy some performance rotors, and pads, for a decent price. The last time I went to the track, last year, I was driving with really, really warped rotors, it was scary, and now its almost time for the next track day, so I really need some new rotors and pads. Thanks

Try CTA Motorsports. I've been buying my brakes from them for the last 5 years. Good prices, and the guy really knows his stuff. Certified car-nut!

hyck said:
Ok, I think I did a pretty good search in Google, and in the forum, and read most of the 120 post Thread "difference between slotted brakes and drilled brakes," which was real cool, but still couldn't find out from where to buy some performance rotors, and pads, for a decent price. The last time I went to the track, last year, I was driving with really, really warped rotors, it was scary, and now its almost time for the next track day, so I really need some new rotors and pads. Thanks

hyck said:

Hyck, stick with STOCK rotors. Slotted or x-drilled (especially) won't do you any good on a track. Stock rotors have more cooling and braking surface. X-drilled are much more prone to cracking (99% of aftermarket x-drilled are drilled, not cast, holes).

Key is to get track-only pads for ther track and maybe upgrade your fluid. Or.... spring for those really nice Brembo GT kits that just came out for our cars.

Just a comment on the x-drilled rotors. If you're in a northern climate, it only takes 1 winter for all of those holes to get filled with rust! Trust me, I've tried it, and I'll never do it again.

I can imagine the slotted rotors will eventually fill with rust too.

I'd stick with stock rotors if I were you.

dcomiskey said: