Subwoofer

milkyxj

:
2013 CX-5 Touring FWD
I plan to add an aftermarket stereo to my CX-5 but don't want to lose any cargo space in the back to subwoofers. While I wait for JL to make a stealthbox or http://www.audiointegrations.net/home.html to make a box for it I have been thinking about taking the spare out and putting one of these http://www.sonicelectronix.com/item_16637_JL-Audio-CP108LG-W3v3.html in the well. I have roadside assistance through my insurance and as soon as I find a better box can put the spare back in. Any thoughts?

I saw that thread, looks good but I have zero fiberglass experience. I'm just debating all my options, my idea is just a temporary sub until more aftermarket stuff comes out. I'm going to go by a shop one of these days and get a quote on a custom box like you did and maybe one inside the spare. Have even looked at trying to fit something under a seat, not looking for anything crazy just something to fill out the low end like an 8" or 10"

Not trying to talk you out of putting in a subwoofer, but thought I'd share my experience from my Scion Xb. I managed to fit a pair of 8" speakers in the rear quarter panels and the sound was quite good. I still thought I might want a subwoofer, so I took my Klipsch powered subwoofer from my home and hooked it up in the back of the car to get an idea of what kind of improvement I'd get. The Klipsch was a 200 watt powered subwoofer with level controls, crossover frequency controls and phase shift.

What I found was that for most music and most music sources, the subwoofer didn't add any noticeable difference to sound quality. The only time I heard a difference (and it was quite a difference) was with electronica or rap/hip-hop that had a lot of electronic bass and drums and then only if it was from a CD or other digital source. For rock and roll, heavy metal, classical, and more, the subwoofer didn't make a difference.