What makes you a good driver?

zach21087

:
MS6
Hey everyone. Well lately i have been reading a lot of threads and posts about racing and that most people seem to agree that it comes down to the driver. So i was wandering what actually makes you a good driver. My MS6 is my first manual and i think im a good driver.

Sometimes though i think maybe im not a good driver. Maybe im totally confused. I think i shift good but is there more to it than that?

The reason i bring this up is because there is this kid at work who talks a ridiculus amount of crap and i was wandering if i could beat him. Hes in a 06 WRX 2.5l not the STi. His claim is that he would smoke me blah blah blah, His car is sitting on a blow off valve and thats it. So what do you guys think.

I would love to just wipe the carpet with this guy.

Any info would be appreciated.

There is no substitute for seat time. Having said that if you are only talking about a "drag race" I must first suggest that you do it on an approved race track then I would tell you that practice makes perfect.

The hardest part of a drag race is the launch, not enough gas and release the clutch too fast and the car won't go, do it the other way and you could destroy your clutch/trans/rear diff., well you get the picture.

As far as how to launch it will be slightly different depending on where you live (Denver with thin air vs. Miami sea level).

I live in Michigan about 600ft above sea level and I launch my car by reving to ~3800rpm and slipping the clutch a little, about 1 to 1.5 seconds. I made 4 runs in about 15 minutes one day and on the last run I smelled clutch so I stopped. I did run a 13.86 on my last run though. With a CAI.

After that I would suggest you practice shifting quick, not fast but smooth and fluid, if you try to just "bang gears" in this car it tends to stick a little and you end up not being able to get it into gear, this is bad. :(