New to the Mazda Family

Timmy_03-P5

:
2003 Mazda Protege 5
I'm a college student new to the Mazda family, and browsing through the forum, I like where I ended up.

I figured I would throw up my car to see what anybody has to say/any suggestions and to track any progress I might be able to make on my newly acquired '03 Protege 5. I saved up my pennies to move on from the '98 Pontiac Sunfire that I had previously (Still going strong at 212,000 when I sold it, might I add :) )

I just got this car last week and am already in love with it. It handles so much better than that Sunfire and the 5-speed P5 gives me torque that I never had before haha

A few details about the car:
Leather seats, 5-speed, just over 100k miles, rims corroded to no end (pic), broken fog lights (pic), and the PO didn't know a lick about cars and/or car maintenance, so beside the leather interior being clean, the outside was disgusting. There was grime everywhere and the engine bay was and still is caked in grime and dust. I wiped what I could, and when I replace the timing belt and water pump, I plan on shining everything that I can up so everyone knows that somebody finally cares about this car haha. I also put in a 10" Pioneer sub with a 600 watt Sony amp. and a cheap pioneer head unit that I can plugmy phone into.

To do: (plan is before spring rolls around)
I plan on replacing the timing belt before winter (along with plugs and wires), degrease/wipe down/clean engine bay, replace the shifter knob (numbers are worn off) and/or a short shifter, stubby antenna, new rims, fix rust on the driver side, power window mod, and new fog lights.

IMG_0501.jpg
IMG_0504.jpg
IMG_0499.jpg
IMG_0503.jpg
IMG_0497.jpg

Open to any comments, thanks :)

Last edited:
I paid 3,700 for the car, but I had to get the small window on the rear passenger door replaced (someone broke into the car the night before I went to go look at it) for $165. So for under 3,900, I think I got a good deal :)