Going Turbo, By Summer of 07

Going Turbo! Soon!

Hey fellow Protege and Protege 5 owners. I recently decided to go turbo by summer of 07. As you know my car is a 2003.5 MP5 The only problem is I'm a Automatic Shifttronic driver " i really wish i bought a manual" So here are my questions

Transmission: How well is it going to hold up, i've been researching that it doesnt hold to well and you cant really punch it until your in 4th gear? Are there ways to make your automatic transmission stronger?

Gas: Again another problem, Is it true most turbo's run on premium? if so since MP3's and MSP EMU's are mapped to use Premium Fuels how do i go about getting my EMU to run this type of Octane fuel. Piggy back?

Engine: Can i run a turbo set-up on stock pistons and cams? honestly, i wouldnt push more then 5-6 PSI.

There are many more questions that i have, but since im so excited even thinking about getting this car turbo'ed i cant really think stright right now. I do want to make this happen. And i think i would be the only Turbo'ed MP5 in Illinois as well.

Updates: FMU is here $70.00

On order:

Gaskets, Bolts and Screws $200.00

Autometer 3 gauge pillar pod $58.99
Autometer 52mm Ultra-Lite Oil Pressure Gauge $57.85
Autometer 52mm Boost gauge $49.99
Autometer 52mm 100 PSI electric fuel pressure gauge $189.33
Flex-A-Lite Transmission Cooler w/ stainless steel mounting brackets $36.85 and $6.00

supposed to come out to $414 thats including shipping for $15.00

So far total has come to: 686.00 out of 2200.00

Last edited:
Transmission: There are many people running turbos on the auto. You just cant push it to hard 5-6psi should be fine on the stock ATX tranny.

Gas: You dont have to remap a car to run 93 octane. You can put it in any car, given the car is a gas engine of course. Protege5's ecu is not mapped to run boost, if you want to go about it the cheap way buy an msp ecu. Or run a piggyback system with a turbo module. ie. MPI. }