Using Mazdaspeed Protege's turbo, chip, & exhaust in a P5...

Finaldo

Have any of you tried this? I was told by my dealer that the engines are the same (2.0L I4, 130hp, 130ft/lb torque) before the turbo and all was added.

He even said that he'd be able to take my P5 and have it added for me. Not so sure about that, but it was nice of him to say.

The question is on the stats of that Garrett turbo... it looks like the Flyin' Miata turbo gives a lot more torque (not sure on the horsepower boost...) than the Garrett.

I'm new to modding cars -- you might even say I'm clueless. With adding a turbo that would take torque at the wheels from whatever it is stock (115ft/lb?) and increasing it to 192ft/lb (that's what the Flyin' Miata claims...) do you need to do anything with the transmission to handle all that extra power? Adding a turbo, exhaust, and a new chip is on the top of the list of things for me to mod on my car, but being as uninformed as I am, I don't want to get the wrong thing or mess up my car in the process of modding it. :)

Also, feel free to call me a newbie. :)

if your dealer will do it... DO IT. they arent supposed to... so if you do, you could have some really really hard to get items. if you decide you dont like it im sure you could sell it for some profit because they are going to be so hard to come by. and you will have a turbo under WARRANTY which is a real plus.

The turbo is small, the intercooler is tiny. you can always upgrade later if you want. you could also just up the boost on the msp turbo.

tranny should be fine for that power.

hey newbie ;)

I've got the Flyin' Miata kit in my car, so if you have any questions just PM or email me. I've been running the kit on my car for a little over seven months now, and no problems to report with the transmission, etc. A bunch of other people have been using this kit, the Spoolin kit and there are a few custom jobs - most of which have been trouble free save a few minor annoyances.