Synthetic or not?

do a search! there should be a few threads on this question. I think the majority go with synthetic.

Royal Purple 30W...

Not 5W30...
or 10W30...

I had used 5W30 Mobil but cooked it before the turbo. The car never sees the winter so I went with a straight 30 weight. Seems tto run great and has yet to look bad on an oil change.

In 500km... 200miles, I am changing my oil, probably to synthetic now that i'm at 5000km. Here is what I wrote in a previous post...

I studied turbo's and the coking problem; as well as mineral and synthetic oils. All oil subjected to high temperatures will break down eventually, but Synthetic oil has a higher operating temperature, approx. 40 Degrees F. 270F for synthetic versus 230F for Mineral oil. Oil whether it's mineral or synthetic will not bust seals unless pressure exceeds 65-70psi. IF your running a turbo HOT often, apparently 2000mile oil changes will prevent the damaged oil molecules from coking the turbo.

The chemicals that cause the coking in turbo's are the chemicals that give the wide-range, multivisocsity oils their name - do not choose these types of oil. The materials added that give the multivisosity capability are the same ones that cause the coking. THEREFORE 20W-50 is better for your turbo than 10W-50. Straight viscosity is best of all, with 10 points higher viscosity when summer arrives. Also, good turbo oil will have a high detergent rating and anti-oxidizing rating.

Lastly, our turbo's are water cooled, so we are less likely to have coked up turbo's... unless you never change your oil...

BTW I'm prob. going with 10W-50 myself... and while it seems the majority are going with mobil 1, I may opt for Castrol... not sure yet.

Last edited:
I went to Mobil 1 syn 10W 30 @ 2,000 miles and noticed a slight bit more turbo "scream" but an overall smoother engine. For now I plan to stay with that forever.

mazdaspdprotege said:
i put 15 50 mobil 1 is that bad ????