Starting on my supporting mods, oppinions please.

aron_ft

:
2003 mazdaspeed protege
I have a 03 MSP right now I have a boost gauge, cat-back exhaust (has what looks to be a glasspack after the cat) idk.., CAI, eibach lowering springs, blitz 2 turbo timer. I want to put an ebay fmic that comes with aluminum hardpipes and a bov, also want to put a wastegate rated around 9 psi, I believe from aspturbo. I don't know if I should go with an mbc or ebc, I am leaning toward an mbc, whats your opinion? I want to push 10 psi boost, would I be safe with that? or am I missing something. please help, im new to this.

eBay FMIC kits are fine, just make sure to get a core that can actually fit behind the lower grille. Search around the forum for dimensions, plenty of people have done that in the past. And any BOV of your choice will do, just make sure to relocate the MAF after the BOV if you decide to vent to atmosphere. If you leave the MAF on the intake you will have problems with stalling.

As for the wastegate, you can't just slap on an external wastegate without a corresponding manifold, turbo, and downpipe setup. You'd have to replace the actuator for the stock internal one, and I have never heard of ASPTurbo actuators so even if they do exist I would stay away. Most of us replace the stock ones with ATP or Forge and they've proven themselves reliable, so that would be my suggestion.

If you can afford one, get an EBC.. they're way more reliable, easier to adjust, and don't spike as much. Some MBCs are fine too but you're almost guaranteed boost spikes, which could cause you to overboost and blow up your engine. The stock rods are kinda weak but they can handle 10 psi with at least a piggyback tune. And I would actually suggest you do that first, all the bolt-ons in the world won't do anything unless you improve the bad stock tune, so look into getting a Spit Second AFC (SS AFC) or an AEM F/IC.