removing cats...pros and cons?

Johnnybass

:
Red '03 Mazda Protege 5 (auto)
title says it all...pros and cons of removing cats? emissions? illegal?

i'll be purchasing the megan racing catback exhaust from AODfan soon (great deals and on the forums!) and wondering why you would and wouldn't remove them!

yes i'm still learning...haha

Yup, illegal, higher emmissions, car won't run right without modification due to the OBDII and O2 sensor not reading correct info. I'm sure it can be done, but it won't be bolt-on.

illegal emmissions (if your state tests) car shoots flames sometimes (atleast mine does) you will gain a little horsepower even being na but it all depends if having a cel and the risk of the cops screwing you is worth a few extra ponies??

Pros- More Power, Loud Exhaust

Cons- Wont Pass Emissions, Unless you know people who will pass you.

......Ive honestly never had cats on both my Proteges'..........But i would just find someone who would pass me.....even if it meant paying them alittle more money. The Power difference is extremely noticable.......well worth it.

And get MIL Eliminators to get rid of the CEL.

I'd like to remove my cat permenately!!! He's a big, fat, good for nothing, son of a b****. He'll srcatch you for no reason and he throws-up all over the ******' house. The only reason I haven't killed him with my bare hands is because my daughter loves him. (rant)

No cats here. Car runs fine, no CEL, no smell, no backfiring or flames.
Just loads more power at WOT and 12-15PSI.
I do shoot soot out on startup if there is condensation inside the muffler tip.
I just used the o2/anti fouler trick and no CEL. I was expecting to see more crap come out of the exhaust but so far after several thousand miles it has been no different than stock other than the harder pull.
I live in the boonies though so emissions laws are not as they are elsewhere.