rear brakes

bgibb68

:
'02 P5 Vivid Yellow
So I've been running the msp rear brakes for a few years now and I just found out that the pass parking brake is gone. Froze doesnt even engage yada yada yada. I remember seeing that the mz6 rears are compatible but there was an issue with the parking brake line. Has that been fixed? anyone know? Is it a pita to rebuild the brake?

I had great luck with poking the little extender tube from the can of liquid wrench into the rubber boot at the end of the cable (which is easier to do with the cable disconnected from the caliper and pointing up inside the wheel well to allow the fluid to drain down into the cable inside the sheath). I also jerry rigged an extra spring (from an old brake shoe mechanism) to the caliper and the pivoting cable connection point to add some extra tension to pull the cable back out of the sheath to back the pads off the rotor, work the liquid wrench into the cable and allow the self adjuster to operate properly. I've also had to grease my sliders every year,.. they get all sticky in no time.

It wasn't the caliper, it was the p-brake cable itself that was seized.

Here is my original post from another thread. I didn't want to insult anyone here who has 3000 posts or has to stand on their seat to see over their supercharger.