Need advice on a USED 2008 CX 9 GT

ashbmw

Hi Guys

My wife and I are in the market to get a 7 seater as our 2nd vehicle. We are looking at 2008 CX-9 vs Highlander. I know I know we like CX-9 too but since it will be used by my wife and we are picking up something just under 100k (60k miles) drive how is the maintenance on the Cx-9? Gas wise I know it is same as any other V6 SUV but I'm more curious about oil change and etc. All the mechanics I've come across they swear by Toyota's Highlander but they might be biased.

any input will be greatly appreciated. :) I wouldn't hesitate if we were getting a new one...

Thanks
Ash

^
I've been owning my 2008 cx-9 for about 11 months and driven for 10000 miles (16000 kms), so far so good. *knock on wood*

The manual states to do the regular maintenance (basic oil change, etc.) every 7500 miles, so i suggest you followed the schedule. This is a Japanese car, so it should be more reliable compare to European or Domestic cars.

66,000 miles on my 2008 CX-9 GT, full synthetic every 7500 miles and going strong.

Not a single problem...knock on wood!

7500 oil change interval is for people with longer trips.
5000 is more conservative in my opinion (and easier to remember, too).

Thanks

thanks for the response guys! Now I'm going to see few dealers to check out 2008 GT with Navi/Leather/power tailgate, blind spot sensors, and etc with 50K - 70K miles. Any tips to check if car has been taken care well? like transmission etc?

Also correct me if I'm wrong if 2008s were ever recalled by Mazda?

Thanks again
Ash

There were 2 recalls for 08: some Thule roof rack accessory that had poor mounting hardware, and then a recall for the seat heaters I think (mine fell out of the vin range).