NA engine compression

irishkev90

:
1998 Mazda Protege LX
Simple question really. Should an NA engine be high or low compression? I know everything needs to be lightweight, along with intake and exhaust upgrades. I just need to know about compression. Thanks for the help guys.

Okay thanks. So what are some ways to increase the compression? Longer rods? Different pistons? And what about valve clearance? Sorry for all the follow-up questions, I'm new to actual engine work. So far all I've done is an intake.

And does anyone know how much space is between the cylinders on the 1.5L Z5? I was thinking of having it bored, but not sure if there's enough room. Thanks.

Mill the head or block, higher compression pistons, weld quench zones onto combustion chambers, all these raise compression ratio. Valve clearance to piston you mean right?

Okay thanks. So what are some ways to increase the compression? Longer rods? Different pistons? And what about valve clearance? Sorry for all the follow-up questions, I'm new to actual engine work. So far all I've done is an intake.

Make sure you rebuild with a head gasket/crank/pistons/rods designed to take the higher compression ratio, obviously.

What are you aiming for? 12.5:1 or higher would be awesome... Also think about upping the engine's redline if you're doing a serious build. You can start getting over 100HP/Liter with compression ratios above 11:1 and higher(ish) redlines.

Yes clearance to pistons. Stock compression I believe is 9.4:1 so maybe 11:1 would be fine, I don't want to go crazy as this will just be a daily driver, but if I can easily get more it would be great. Does anyone have any suggestions for where to get some lightweight crank/rods/pistons for a 2.7mm bored Z5? Or I guess maybe easier would be those parts for a B5-ZE, since that is what I'm basing this build on.