Mazda Scan Tool? Forscan

Hi all first post here!

I’ve been researching scan tools for my ‘17 CX-5 GT. Looking for Bi-Directional Control for actuation test, service functions like ABS bleed etc…

Tried out Forscan with a Vgate Vlinker adapter but I’m not really seeing a whole lot of this functionality. Looks like the As Built Data mapped out is somewhat sparse. I’m not sure if Mazda doesn’t have a lot of this functionality as it is or if it’s just the tool/software? I’d imagine they must!

Also considering the VXdiag with Mazda IDS but it seems a little sketchy/pain to get software working with the “patch” has anyone used this?

Then there is a something like the Xtool D7 and D8. These are much pricier to have for use in just one car.

Any experience? Thanks!

I'm no expert on ForScan but I use the app with the bluetooth VLinker to scan and monitor things. I did buy the hardwire cable to hookup to a computer as well (although I haven't hooked up with a computer). As I understand ForScan, that (hardwire cable/laptop) is what you will need for the deeper functionality you are looking for.

Yep, I got the hardwired adapter recommended by Forscan and a license for the PC version of the software which is needed for programming. There is not much to actually program though other than what’s already available in Mazda Connect.

I’ll probably try this VC2 china clone adapter next before spending the bucks.

I have an Autel MK808. At $419, it may be more than you want to spend, but it absolutely is a wonderful piece of kit. Good for way more than just Mazda, too.

Check out the new X-Tool bi-directional anyscan a30m.