liftgate recall - now my hatch doesn't open as far

spiffikins

:
CX-5
I have a 2015 CX-5 Touring edition

I took my vehicle to the dealership a few weeks ago, to have them replace the liftgate struts under the recall. Now my liftgate does not open as high as it used to - it seems to get "stuck" sooner than it should?

I have an appointment Tuesday morning to take it back in to have them look at it - but it would be nice to have some measurement other than "I've been using my liftgate for the past 3 years and never felt like I was going to hit my head - since you replaced the struts, I'm flinching/ducking every time I use it, and if I stand straight up and stretch my neck a bit, the top of my head brushes the hatch - which was never an issue previously"

I searched but can't find any official documentation on what the open height of the liftgate SHOULD be - is anyone willing to measure theirs?

thanks!

You know, I thought I was going crazy. I agree with you that tail gate does not open as high as it used to.

OK, I measured it for you. From the flat garage floor to the edge of the metal above the latch it's 75.25". I have a 2014 GT with stock-sized 19" tires (28.7" in height). I have not had the recall done and most likely won't. My struts look brand new!

CX5Opening.jpg

Last edited:
They may have sacrificed some axial throw to make a more robust strut design. If there is a recall on something that is a convenience, not a safety concern, I'd prefer to not have it done until failure. Then you get a free replacement.

They may have sacrificed some axial throw to make a more robust strut design. If there is a recall on something that is a convenience, not a safety concern, I'd prefer to not have it done until failure. Then you get a free replacement.