Legal Question

sykotick

I have an odd question if anyone can answer it. I am about to start school for Computer Forensics and I need to pass a background check. Now 4 years ago I had a run-in with the 5-0. I was arrested (I never stepped foot in prison). I was sentenced to probation w/o verdict. I was told that when I completed my probation and paid my fees my record would be clear. Anyone know a way I can check this, other than running a background check on myself? Could I call the court? Anyone work in HR and has to do them for his/her job and could run mine for free?!

Thanks for any help I get.

I am no lawyer, but the way that I understand it is if you were never formally convicted in a court, then you should be clear. Since you were not convicted, and did not violate your parole, my guess is you are good... Again, this is just a guess though.

My question to you is what difference does it make? You will still have to take the background check either way, right? If you do find out on your own that something is going to show up, how does this benefit you? I guess what I am saying is that I would play dumb unless something does come up, and at that point, tell your story. No need to raise flags before you even fail the check, right?

^^yeah, if it's cleared...it's CLEARED. Only uber-background checks will show there was an incedent, and because it was cleared they could not hold it against you anyway. Plus, everybody already knows you used to sell crack, and we're cool with it.

CommieSpeed said:
^^yeah, if it's cleared...it's CLEARED. Only uber-background checks will show there was an incedent, and because it was cleared they could not hold it against you anyway. Plus, everybody already knows you used to sell crack, and we're cool with it.

Speaking of which - where's ma change?

pdhaudio83 said:
its automatically cleared by the records department. you're fine.

Not neccesarily.

sykotick, how old were you when this happened?