I need help finding a good amp!

Jen1170

:
2008 Mazdaspeed 3
Ok so, I'm new at this car audio stuff and I wanna get a really kick ass amp, preferably under 200 dollars...but I could probably be persuaded to spend a bit more. I don't know anything about amplifiers,so could anyne help me out here? :confused:

Thanks
-Jen

well, for right now ill be using my boyfriends old sony 12" but in the future id like to upgrade to something much better, probably a couple of alpine 10s or 12s. who knows? Id take any advice on that too ;-)

it really doesnt matter all that much.
Just buy something reliable and stay away from the crap.

Get a mono amp for subwoofers. Alot of decent stuff out there.
No point in paying a major premium for your system.
Alpine would be my choice for $200.

it really doesnt matter all that much.
Just buy something reliable and stay away from the crap.

Get a mono amp for subwoofers. Alot of decent stuff out there.
No point in paying a major premium for your system.
Alpine would be my choice for $200.

Totally agreed!

CRAP = Jenson, Craig (do they still make this stuff?), Best Buy generic brands (what is the name of their crap?), etc.

Middle of road stuff that I still would not buy personally = Sony, Kenwood, Blaupunkt, Pioneer.

Decent mass market stuff = Alpine, Eclipse, Rockford/Fosgate.

High end exotic stuff that I cannot afford = JL audio, Focal, Macintosh, other brands I have never heard of due to living in Wisconsin and all this s*** is in California, Florida, etc.

Speakers will always make a larger difference in sound quality between manufacturers than amps.

lol!!

hold on a minute now.

Order of importance in a sub setup:

1) Sub Box
2) Mono amp
3) sub.

Please don't tell her that the amp doesn't matter. I realize sony subs are bad and all, but atleast lets suggest she get something that will work for her upgrades later?