How big can I go?

The Kid

Hey guys,
Im new to the whole modding your car thing. I purchased my first car last year(03 P5 Laser blue) and Im starting to get the itch to put some wheels on it to go with the autoex front lip and J-spec taillights. My real question is how big of a wheel can i put on the car the way it is. I have lowering springs but if I put them on i won't be able to get into my driveway.

Thanks for the help,
The Kid

Hey guys,
Im new to the whole modding your car thing. I purchased my first car last year(03 P5 Laser blue) and Im starting to get the itch to put some wheels on it to go with the autoex front lip and J-spec taillights. My real question is how big of a wheel can i put on the car the way it is. I have lowering springs but if I put them on i won't be able to get into my driveway.

Thanks for the help,
The Kid

I've got no idea, but when I read the title of your post, the first thing that popped into my mind was "that's what she said" (cabpatch)

i got 17"s and running 205/40 tires and lowered.....i got a lil bit of rub but the speed difference is better than it was when i was running 45's believe it or not.....but i did get killer gas milaged with the 45's

I suggest you start here

http://www.mazdas247.com/forum/showthread.php?t=9129

There was a guy who fit 20's on the P5 just recently but I have now seen them up f/s....not sure why???

But 18" is as big as I would go but first consider the types of roads you drive on. For most 18" wheels out there you'll need to run a 215/35/18 tire which is like a rubberband (I have seen some members run a 215/40/18 as well). If your roads suck and there are potholes and bumps everywhere, etc then I'd stay away and go 17".