Help a Med Student Dad of 3

:
Mazda, 5 Touring 2010
Hey Mazda 5ers,

I am a fourth year medical student about to start ophthalmic surgical training residency for four years. My wife and I have three kids under 4 years old and we have owned our 2010 Mazda 5 Touring for about 2 years now. We are a one car family, and I mostly commute on a bicycle to and from the hospital. We are starting to run into some problems (both new and old) and with close to $400K in student loans from med school and a large family, I am left trying to figure this all out on my own. We live in Northern Arizona and the stealership is terrible up here. Lousy service and even worse diagnostic and mechanical skills. I want to start doing my own repairs as much as possible because of their terrible abilities. I'm definitely a rookie when it comes to cars, but I'm a DIY type personality and would love the mentoring help from the experts on this forum.

Problem #1