Hello from a new 2001 Mazda Protege Owner!

Maryjane

:
2001 Mazda Protege LX 2.0
Hello everyone!

I just brought home my first Mazda vehicle tonight, I am the new owner of a 2001 Protege LX 2.0! I'd like to introduce myself, and I'd like to ask if this is an appropriate place to discuss all things related to my 2001 Protege, or if I'm in the wrong subforum? I already know I need to replace my driver's side power window regulator; seems like a common issue, not too hard, but I thought I could use the help of those that have done it before me. And in general, I'm sure I'll have some other questions and concerns that I'm hoping to get help with, since this is my first Mazda product. Additionally, I am an adult student, with about a 70 mile daily commute, and my beloved, but aging, Ford Ranger was kiling me in fuel costs. I am hoping the new Protege can do just a little better on gas ;-)

I'd welcome any thoughts or comments about my new purchase; pics to follow soon.

-Maryjane

Additional info about the new ride:
  • 2001 Mazda Protege LX 2.0
  • 91,000 miles
  • 5-spd. manual transmission
  • Power moon roof
  • interior very good condition; body good condition, with two rusty spots (not uncommon of Upstate New York area)
  • The engine starts, runs, and drives very smooth. I brought the car to a Monroe Muffler for a free, visual only, inspection prior to purchase, and their conclusion was that it was a decet, sound used car. Obviously not perfect, but in good used shape. Unfortunately, I did not have anyone perform any kind of compression test, but there is not obvious signs of major engine concerns that I, or the Monroe Muffler mechanics, could detect just by looking at and listening to the motor.
  • Paid $2500 cash.

Welcome aboard, I am sure you will get all of the help you need. We have a well educated group when it comes to our cars.

Start saving for a timing belt, you should average above 30 mpg. If not simple cheap bolt ons will

Hi everyone!