Headers and NYS Inspection....

HFD45

Contributor
:
MSP No. 970
im looking at Tsudo or OBX headers for me MSP...just curious about NYS OBDII emissons testing with the CEL/MIL fix thread out there b/c im a license inspector. If installing the headers OBVIOUSLY your elimnating your cat and the lower O2 sensor, so the car isnt gonna pass w/o the cats all there (who cares im not gonna fail my own car by visual)....Secondly, meaning we are purposely eliminating the cat, the computer is gonna fail us so we have no choice but to do the CEL fix. What exactly does this fix do after reseting the ECU? Does it fool the system into thinking the cat & second O2 sensors are there resulting in no harm and a passing inspection or does it do nothing more then shut the light off so its not in our face, still resulting in my "you suck" letter from Albany saying i failed the emissons part of the test?

well if you have the mazdaspeed protege then the headers you are talking about are not the headers u need cause the mazdaspeed is turbo all the other non turbo proteges have the header with the first cat in it

djdanny5000 said:
well if you have the mazdaspeed protege then the headers you are talking about are not the headers u need cause the mazdaspeed is turbo all the other non turbo proteges have the header with the first cat in it

Thats what Im saying

HFD45 said: