Gauges Installed (Oil Pressure & Temp) on Protege5

toedrag

:
2002 PR5
Wrapped up my gauge installation. Here are some pictures of key points for me. I'm a decent shade tree mechanic and avvid DIY guy around the house, but hadn't ever done any wiring on a car before. I also never had a reason to dive into wiring diagrams, and this project gave me a good reason, so I added a few tips in case anyone else is fuzzy on how to read a wiring diagram. Enjoy.

Not affiliated w/any product or company whose product is about to be shown.

Starting off w/the gauges & adapter:
IMG_6898.jpg

Next, prep the adapter, sensors, and plugs. The adapter I purchased has 4 holes for sensors and comes with 4 plugs. I'm only using two holes. The thread sealant pictured is Oatey Great White #31229 It can be used on oils and is good up to 10,000 PSI on liquids from -50 to +500F. Can be purchased from your neighborhood HW store, usually in the plumbing section.
IMG_6899.jpg

Next, the completed prepped adapter & sensors. I chose to install the sensors in these locations based on how the test-fit looked:
IMG_6901.jpg

The next thing I did was get some 18 gauge wire in various colors, along with bullet connectors and ring terminals, and go to town on cutting about 6' ft lengths with the proper connectors. There are so many ways to do this; it just depends on how you want it. Another thing I did was put a ring terminal on the Oil Temp sensor Ground wire (black) and connect it to the Oil Pressure sensor Ground Terminal (creating a little daisy chain), then I ran a another longer Ground Wire from the Oil Pressure Ground Terminal to my grounding point on the car near the battery. It goes like this:

Oil Temp Ground --> ring terminal to Oil Pressure Ground Terminal -> second ring terminal to 6'-ish wire connecting to the car's ground

Next just shows how I routed the wires. Good ol' duct tape...I'm sure there is a specific product I should have used here instead.
IMG_6905_edit.jpg