Federal Tires SS535

pappaf2

:
Mazda, Protege 5, Lazer Blue
Anyone out there running Federal Tires? Specifically the SS535? I am on the hunt for new tires and it seems to me that tire prices have gone up alot since the last time I put tires on my MP5. I am running Kumho Ecsta AST's in 205/50R16 right now but they are in need of replacement. I have been happy enough with the AST's but I'm shocked to see that America's Tire wants ~ $480 installed and out the door for these tires, and that is about the cheapest thing they have. Anyway I called Les Schwab and they can do a set of Federal SS535's for between $411 and $440 depending on if I go with 195/50R16's or 205/50R16's.

Does anyone have any thoughts on these tires or another all season tire I can put on the MP5 for the same price or cheaper?
Thanks

Did you check the Falken 912s? I've been running them for about four months now and they have been great in FL weather. Been through plenty of wet weather with them. I can't remember how good they are in the snow though.

Last edited:
Anyone out there running Federal Tires? Specifically the SS535? I am on the hunt for new tires and it seems to me that tire prices have gone up alot since the last time I put tires on my MP5. I am running Kumho Ecsta AST's in 205/50R16 right now but they are in need of replacement. I have been happy enough with the AST's but I'm shocked to see that America's Tire wants ~ $480 installed and out the door for these tires, and that is about the cheapest thing they have. Anyway I called Les Schwab and they can do a set of Federal SS535's for between $411 and $440 depending on if I go with 195/50R16's or 205/50R16's.

Does anyone have any thoughts on these tires or another all season tire I can put on the MP5 for the same price or cheaper?
Thanks

First off, why do you need A/S's in Danville? Unless you're heading up to tahoe all the time, you don't need em. A good summer will out-perform an A/S in everything but snow.