Can't for the life of me find the oil filter and drain plug.

Flypops

:
2014 CX-5 Grand Touring
Okay fellas, new member here and I am totally feeling like an idiot. After the first three years of my wife getting complimentary oil changes from the dealer it is time for me to do the first oil/filter change myself. I went down to Wally's early this morning and picked up a big jug (5 qts.) of Castrol Edge 0-20 full syn. and a K&N HP1008 filter.

Came home, opened the hood, removed the engine cover, got on the ground and pulled the plastic shroud (bolts, screws and plastic rivets) and holy cow there is so little room under there.

I spent a half hour trying to find the filter and drain plug and finally gave up and put it all back together!

I'm a pretty decent mechanic. I've done all the regular maintenance on my F-250 7.3L Powerstroke for over 17 years and just finished putting new cams, push rods and lifters along with an inner primary bearing replacement in my Harley so I'm pretty familiar with wrenching but this one has me baffled.

Where the heck is it? I've seen several Youtube videos that make it look so simple but after being underneath that thing I believe the videos are for the 2.0L and not the 2.5L.

So I'm turning to you guys who have the knowledge.

Please help a brother out here.

Thanks,
Dan

Wow; this is a first! OK, here goes...