Best Battery for P5?

mualan

:
Laser Blue 2003 MP5
Hey all,

I couldn't narrow down any searches on this, so if someone in the know could help me out...

What's a good brand of car battery that I can buy for my P5? The car wouldn't start awhile back, and checking the battery revealed a horribly corroded negative terminal. Since then I've thoroughly cleaned out (wire brushed and used the battery cleaner foam sprays) the terminal ... but every few days or so the car won't start until the 3rd or 4th try.

So I'm looking to buy a new battery that also fits right. By the way, when I was a kid and didn't know anything about cars, I used to find those "Die Hard" batteries inside engine bays kinda cool. Are those any good?

Any help would be much appreciated. Thanks in advance!

-mualan

P.S. A friend just told me that places will also "recharge" batteries. Should I get this done instead since I just bought the car new ~3 years ago? Sorry, I'm a total newbie when it comes to car batteries.

Last edited:
Optima Red Top

mine died a couple of days ago after 2 years of service, went in and got a brand new one free, that warranty is awsome!

i was having the same problem... ground kit and a optima red top. it all started when i installed my AVIC N-1, i think i might of messed up the wireing doing it my self

I've heard good and bad things about the optimas. I'll prob end up with a red top one day. So you have an 03 laser blue and line in casselberry? I have an 03.5 laser blue in Longwood. Cars might be from the same stock at cory fairbanks lol...

I'm actually just temporary resident in Florida to go to a computer animation school (FullSail). Drove the car down from Austin, TX (where I bought it) back in October of last year. I'm so glad I have it here with me in this world of hurricanes and power outages.

Sounds so far like the Optima Red Top is being recommended the most...

-mualan