BA Ford Falcon XR6 Turbo MkII

mikeyb

Contributor
:
01 BMW 325xi Touring
falcon-xr6t-1.JPG

You'd be forgiven for thinking that Ford's updated 'MkII' Falcon range is less of an update and more of a marketing exercise.

Let's say I'm a casual driver, that I'm no enthusiast for example, and I stroll past a MkII XR6 Turbo. I didn't spot the new 17-inch alloy wheels - as appealing as they are - nor the MkII badge on the rear. In my casual driver's guise it looks like a very-well kept BA Falcon from a couple of years ago.

So visually not a lot has happened between MkI and this here MkII, but the changes are there. Somewhere...

Granted, they're not even half as extensive as Holden's update from VY to VZ, and depending on which camp you follow, Ford or Holden, you'll subscribe to theory A) that Ford's BA Falcon was such a brilliant car to begin with little needed to be changed or that B) Ford is living on borrowed time and it spent too much cash on its soccer mum SUV, the Territory, and that Ford's aren't worth spitting on and so and so forth.

Most entry-level MkII Falcon's come in for minor-but-welcome changes, such as cruise control and auto headlights, but the XR6 Turbo benefits from a few mechanical upgrades, and many of them are performance-based, which made this writer quite happy...

Drive

<TABLE cellSpacing=3 cellPadding=3 align=right bgColor=#e7efe7 border=0><TBODY><TR><TD>
falcon-xr6t-2.JPG
</TD></TR><TR><TD>
falcon-xr6t-4.JPG
</TD></TR><TR><TD>
falcon-xr6t-3.JPG
</TD></TR><TR><TD>
Ford's flying Falcon XR6 Turbo is a keener

cornering machine with the 6-speed manual

</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

This is the second time I've driven a Falcon XR6 Turbo, but the first time with a manual transmission.

I was rather taken with the 4-speed sportshift automatic gearbox from the original MkI XR6 Turbo, which just seemed to gel perfectly with the torque-laden powerplant.