2009 M3 5 speed manual trans

Bassist

:
Mazda 3 sport
Hi. I'm new to the forums and I'm also a new Mazda owner. I just bought an '09 Mazda 3 hatchback with a 5 speed manual transmission. I am looking for some basic information on this car but I'm particularly curious to know how this transmission is designed and if Mazda designed it to have the gears shift at a specific RPM. It seems like 1 to 2 shifts at a low (1500) RPM but from 2-3, 3-4 and 4-5 shifts best as the RPM's get higher (2000-3000 RPM).

The side of the car says 'Mazdaspeed 2.3'. I don't know if that factors in as well. I'm not an expert manual driver but I'm getting along fine and I hope I'm not using the clutch too much slipping between 1-2 and 2-3.

Thanks

You got a sporty 2.3, in Australian it's called the SP23.
Great buy!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Hi. I'm new to the forums and I'm also a new Mazda owner. I just bought an '09 Mazda 3 hatchback with a 5 speed manual transmission. I am looking for some basic information on this car but I'm particularly curious to know how this transmission is designed and if Mazda designed it to have the gears shift at a specific RPM. It seems like 1 to 2 shifts at a low (1500) RPM but from 2-3, 3-4 and 4-5 shifts best as the RPM's get higher (2000-3000 RPM).

The side of the car says 'Mazdaspeed 2.3'. I don't know if that factors in as well. I'm not an expert manual driver but I'm getting along fine and I hope I'm not using the clutch too much slipping between 1-2 and 2-3.

Thanks

Mazdaspeed 3 should have 6 gears, not 5. If yours has 5, someone probably added their own stickers. Do you have a turbocharger?

The side of the car says 'Mazdaspeed 2.3'.