And Another One Bites the DUST

:
Mazda 6s Lapis Blue / Mazda3 5-door Sunlight Sliver
Well, you can add my car to all the other statistics on Mazda3 first year car problems. I have read all the threads on brake dust, so I checked mine the other day. I found some pretty large grooves/valleys in the back rotors. I contacted Mazda and my dealership and I'm waiting for a responses. The front rotors seem to be ok, but I do notice some suspicious lines showing up...And I know this isn't that big a deal and can easily be resolved, but it's a little frustrating.

(dunno)

damn that sucks. ill have to keep an eye on mine. at least its all covered by warranty=).

I'm glad to hear that....from the title of thread it sounded like you totaled it!

Ok, so the dealership called me and this was their responce, "Well, some grooves and valleys are normal wear and tear produced by the high density brake pads that are used in todays cars." Ok, I'm no mechanic, nor do I pretend to be, but that sounds a little off to me. I have never experienced this kind of damage to the rotors.

Has anyone else experienced this as normal wear and tear (excluding Mazda3 owners)?

um..the 3s are well known for letting little rocks under the brakepad.
Jamie had that happen to his 3sport, like a month after he bought it... I haven't asked since, but last i heard, he was going to get it fixed at the dealership...

and it does sound weird that 'valleys and grooves' are normal... cuz they shouldn't be.

"yeah, ignore those flames from your engine, it's normal in today's cars"

yeah it's the new craze....forget crossdrilled and slotted...new mazdaspeed circle vented rotors. Hills and vallys are used in another term...I won't go there. if the tire falls off that's cool cause the rotors are vented for traction and designed for snow use. don't worry the oil in the cars today are designed to outlast the car and you.

Last edited: