Nitrofill?

Zoom3r

My dealer gave me what he called his "special tire service" package when we bought our 2010 CX9. I'm sure I ended up paying for this garbage somewhere although I scrutinized my purchase invoice several times and if he sneaked it in it was buried in the base purchase price for the car.

They claim to have filled my tires with something called "Nitrofill."

What the heck is that and why do I want it? And what happens when my tires need more air pressure? Do I have to hunt down a special place that offers Nitrofill or some other non-air substance?

Sorry if this sounds an absolute newbie question but I've never heard of such a thing.

It's nitrogen, instead of air. If they are charging you for it, pass. There are some minor benefits to nitrogen, but they really aren't worth running around looking for it. Air works just fine, even in our area where we go from single to triple digit temps.

The Infiniti dealer where we were shopping for a new M was quoting $100 for this "service". I bout most spewed my coffee! The local Gateway (a tire dealer) puts nitrogen in all their new tires. If you stop in and want them to replace the plain air in your tires it's $2.50 per.

What a scam.

A. A modern car won;t lose air that fast anyway.

B. Alloy wheels don't rust

C. Air in tires doesn't spontaneously combust.

If someone puts it in free of charge, no harm done. Again, it's not worth paying for.

i got them when i bought tires from costco.

bad thing about nitrogen is if you want to add air you need to go back to their location to do it.

with reg air at least i can do it in my garage.

i got them when i bought tires from costco.

bad thing about nitrogen is if you want to add air you need to go back to their location to do it.

with reg air at least i can do it in my garage.

You can add regular air to tires filled with nitrogen--won't hurt anything.