Center Gauge Pod

redspeed

:
MS3 Sport
How To: Center Gauge Pod

This is a simple "how to" to make a center gauge pod. This is my first time making something like this, but it was easy. So if I made it, you can too.

First thing I did was to order some prosport gauges(boost & water temp.) and a center gauge pod from PG. Then I needed to find a oem dash piece. Brand new this part cost about $180, so obviously I decided against it. I started calling local junk yards, and found one for $65. Then a I got some plastic weld for the local parts store(see pic #1). I used 2 tubes. Now for the cutting.
Pic #1
P1030158.JPG

The PG gauge pod is a pretty good pod. But it covers most of the oem part, meaning, the front part is too close to the a/c vents. So, when you apply the plastic weld, you risk getting some on the vent holes. Additionally I didn't like how it looked, I wanted the gauges a little farther back, not too much. I cut 1 to 1.5 in. from the back part of the pod, so I could move it back(see pic #2). Another benefit of doing this, is that the oem part has a rectangle figure under it. I cut this rectangle and it was a perfect size for the gauges, w/o having to guess(see pic #3).
Pic #2
P1030146.JPG
Pic #3
P1030147.JPG

Next, i sanded the pod and the oem part so the plastic weld can take hold. Nothing too crazy, just make it a little rough. Then, line up the two parts and apply the plastic weld. I left it to dry for about 1 hr under the sun(see pic #4). After is dry, start sanding to make it smooth. This is the hard part if you do it by hand like me. I don't have a lot of power tools, so it was all muscle. It takes more than two hrs to sand this ******* plastic weld. It gets really hard. I used sand paper #60 first, then #120 & #1000 to smooth it out(see pic #5 & #6).
Pic #4
P1030150.JPG
Pic #5
P1030152.JPG