This Time I Actually Drove It Home (New MS3)

SeanMSIII

Alright, I finally picked it up. Nice and shiny and new. Pix to follow tomorrow. No problems at the dealership. The F&I guy was a motorcyle-riding MS6/DSM (450 hp) guy from SoCal. We talked for awhile about whether or not to use synthetic oil, wives who like/dislike motorcylces, and the potential MS3 aftermarket. Then he made one pitch for a service program which I rejected. I handed over checks and we were done.

First impression while heading home was that the acceleration is less visceral than the MS6. (Sorry, I can't help but make this an MS6/3 comparo, since I've been driving the 6 for 10 months now.) This makes no sense since the MS3 has a lower lbs/hp ratio. It must be the AWD or something. Or maybe with the extra weight it's just more of a production to get the MS6 going. I don't know. Of course, since it's brand new, I really only goosed it once or twice (had to pass truck to get to the entrance of Starbucks) and it did scoot right along. The acceleration is just somehow stealthier and I found myself going much faster than I thought I was going. Clutch is not a problem, maybe just a touch high. Torque steer is far from a problem, more like a fun little quirk than cause for concern. The steering feel seems heavier than in the MS6. Maybe the heavier steering feel is designed to reduce the sense of torque steer? Anyway, after 20 or so miles I'm used to it already. Road noise is a little higher than the MS6 also, but not bad. Engine/turbo sounds are much more prevalent than in the MS6. I think they are just about right for me. More noise would be annoying, especially on the highway. Around town it's nice and rumbly, let's you and others know you're driving a sports cars even though it happens to have 5 doors. This is a little bit of a dillemma for me b/c I want more power and acceleration. But if 30 more hp from intake/exhaust mods comes at the cost of much more noise, I don't know if I want it. I'll wait