Test Drive: 2010 Ford Flex Limited AWD EcoBoost

mikeyb

Contributor
:
01 BMW 325xi Touring
With the EcoBoost motor for 2010, Ford's versatile <NOBR style="COLOR: darkgreen; FONT-SIZE: 100%; FONT-WEIGHT: normal" id=itxt_nobr_1_0>Flex </NOBR>delivers everything for everyone.

2010fordflexhome_rdax_646x258.jpg

Dinner conversation with friends who know what I do for a living, or with strangers who learn that Im an automotive journalist, usually begin with "Why can't American car companies build fuel efficient vehicles?" or "Why can't they build quality vehicles, or innovative vehicles, or fun vehicles, or vehicles I'd want to own?" And almost invariably, these questions come from folks who haven't owned an American car for at least 10 years, and haven't even driven one in a decade or more.

<TABLE class=table_right border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=8 width=300 align=right itxtvisited="1"><TBODY itxtvisited="1"><TR itxtvisited="1"><TD bgColor=#192a33 itxtvisited="1">FAST FACTS

</TD></TR><TR itxtvisited="1"><TD bgColor=#2c4b5b itxtvisited="1">1. All-wheel drive versions of the Flex come exclusively with the same 3.5-liter EcoBoost V6 as found in the SHO, making 355-hp and 350 ft-lbs of torque. 2. Fuel economy is the same as the standard V6 engine (with AWD) at 16/22 mpg (city/hwy).
3. Flex models start at $28,550, with the EcoBoost versions priced from $40,090.
4. The Flex can be had as a six or seven seater with either two second-row captains chairs or a three-seat bench.
5. Cargo room starts at 20 cu.-ft. behind the third row, expands to 43 cu.-ft. with those seats folded flat and a total of 83 cu.-ft. with the second row flat.
</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>