Setting up a new aquarium

krimsonviper

:
2010 Mazda3 i-Touring
Just got a 15gal. and I havent bought any fish for it. So far I have a 15 gal. filter, about 10+ plants, a heater, gravel, and of course a glass lid and flourescent lamp. My question(s) is: how many fish can I put into it? I'm wanting cichlids. I also want a bottom feeder and a algae eater(will purchase later due to me not wanting it to starve). What kind of fish can I put in with the cichlids. What temp should I keep the tank at? Do I have to have an undergravel filtration system? I've heard that pleco's get HUGE and I dont think that the chinese algae eaters do squat against algae(previous experience), so what other kinds of algae eaters are there? Should I get a bottom feeder and an algae eater or is there one that does the same? So many questions, but I want to do this right the first time and not waste my money. Also, any cichlid suggestions?

*edit*
I'm using fake plants. I have no experience with real plants. Recommendations?

Last edited:
rule of thumb is 1 gal per inch of fish. Make sure you account for growth, gravel and equipment--it's better to only have a couple fish that live a long time than a crowded tank with lots of turnover ;) I don't know how big your chosen fish get, but I wouldn't put in more than 4 (total).

I think cichlids are aggressive, so there probably isn't a whole lot you can put in with them.
I have a clown pleco in my 20gal with a few tetra & an angelfish. It's hardly grown since I put it in a couple years ago, and I was told they don't get anywhere as big as other varieties.

I like using undergravel filters since it's another way to keep the water clean, but then, I have a small powerhead on mine...
I think the middle of the safe range for a tropical tank is 80*F

Rise!