Pirelli/tire shop question

Evolved

:
2006 Mazdaspeed 6 GT
I recently discovered a screw in the sidewall of one of my tires (Pirelli P Zero Nero M+S all around). The tires themselves are very new, less than 5000 miles. I went to the Firestone right down the road where I always go for issues such as this. They informed me that I would just have to replace one since the other tires were so new....fine and good. Now, they told me that the P Zero Nero M+S is discontinued and instead mounted (same size, speed rating, etc.) a Pirelli P Zero Rosso.

SO, I have 3 Ulra High Performance All Seasons and 1 Ultra High Performance Summer.

Does this sound right? They told me the one they mounted was the "close cousin" of the rest. Can anyone confirm/deny the cancellation of the PZero Nero M+S? Thanks in advance!

I'm no tire pro, but putting a summer tire with all seasons in the weather you get in your area doesn't sound right. I'm assuming you are running stock size 215/45/18, none of the larger online dealers list the m&s in that size anymore except onlinetires.com. Check that site, good price listed. If you were under a road hazard warranty, it looks like they gave you a higher price point tire in comparison to the m&s. if you weren't... go b****. I would try to get the regular p zero nero all season from them if you can't get the m&s.

Last edited:
Problem was solved. The Firestone manager made a mistake and I'm getting the M+S (which aren't discontinued) on Friday. I ended up calling Pirelli NA and they said that they are absolutely still making that size of the PZero Nero M+S.

My only concern would be that even though they are new (5k miles) they still have worn down a bit. The rear drivetrain might throw a fit over this.

My only concern would be that even though they are new (5k miles) they still have worn down a bit. The rear drivetrain might throw a fit over this.