DSC OFF = what exactly?

hyperpm

:
08.5 CPW MS3 Sport
When I dynoed my car, DSC was off and got good numbers. Does having DSC on or off have any effects on boost or mapping from a performance point of view or is it strictly traction control? Thanks!

DSC is actually the next level of traction control. Traction control is purely wheelspin. DSC is a more complex system that attempts to save you from flying off twisty roads, etc., deals more with lateral control. Turning off DSC alone does not disable traction control. There's a way to do that, though, and I hope your dyno run was done with traction control totally disabled, because traction control on many cars can rob some power, especially on aggressive starts.

I'm still new to the MS3, but if I recall, the method for disabling traction control on the MS3 involves holding down the DSC button before you turn the key to the ON position & then keeping it pressed for a certain interval of time or something like that. I'm just too lazy to do the search for you. ;-)

At any rate, traction control & DSC do not directly affect the ECU tune, boost, etc. But they can rob power by applying brake pressure or reducing throttle input, etc. under hard driving.

Pressing the DSC button does in fact disable the TC, no need for any special voodoo tricks. Trust me I know this to be true!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=K3m24bjkfg0&feature=related

btw...regardless of wether you turn it on or off your system isn't going to matter on a dyno run. the parameters are probably gonna be so far off whack that your dsc and tcs, and even abs won't be doing much anyway. this is cuz your front wheels are spinning and your back wheels are still, and your car isn't moving at all. im pretty sure this forces the computer to assume something is wrong in the system and thus prevents normal operation

i dyno'd mine and forgot to turn of dsc and still got good numbers