2015 CX-5 Tom Tom Isn't So Bad . . .

Rarebit

Contributor
:
Mazda CX-5 2015 GT AWD
I wondered how good/bad the TomTom nav system was in my 2015. I've been using a Garmin NUVI for 5 years, and got quite accustomed to it. I've also used Waze (a smartphone app with traffic reporting) and the iPhone Drive app that comes with all iPhones.

Recently I had to drive across town at rush hour. I hit heavy traffic on the best route, and suddenly the TomTom reported that traffic had increased and there was a better route that would save 11 minutes, asking if I wanted to review the new route. I said "yes" and it quickly planned and displayed the route. I changed my route and arrived within 1 minute of the planned time despite very heavy traffic. I was surprised and a little impressed.

In other cases, though, it has estimated trip times that were 20 and even 30 minutes less than actuals, due to heavy traffic that was obvious to me as a driver but which didn't seem to get reported to the TomTom.

Does anyone know exactly how it gets its traffic reports? I can't see where in the menus it is getting them.

I did a comparison test yesterday, running the TT Nav and my iPhone "Waze" app on the same drive. There's a bridge repair locally that is backing up traffic routinely, and adding about 10 minutes to a 25 minute drive.

Waze identified a less direct but faster route and forecast an arrival time of 5:09. TT chose the direct route and identified a 3 minute traffic delay, forecasting a 5:01 arrival.

Traffic in the direct route was, as reported by Waze, terrible. I took the less direct route and arrived home at 5:10. I suspect it would have been 5:20 if I'd taken the route suggested by TT. As I progressed along the route, TT never showed any increase in traffic delay, but kept pushing the arrival time later and later until it predicted 5:11.