Tokico/Espelir Installed: Now thud sound coming over small bumps

dd123

:
Mazda protege-5 2002
Guys
Someone in the forum installed me the tokico hp blue and espelir springs on my p5.
Now, I hear the thud sound even on a small bump pointing that something is loose.
Just after the install, we heard the noises and tighten the nut over the struts which resolved the issue but it came back after 100 miles
it is definitely coming from front, need to confirm if it is coming from rear as well

I am a noob and the guy who installed mine is 90 miles away :-(

I can tighten something here and there not deep but otherwise I would need professional help

1) Should I keep driving this car very carefully for sometime before I actually get it fixed ?
2) How can I fix it ?

Thanks

DD

I've had a thud sound with every car that I've lowered. Personally I just think it's the harshness of the suspension.

The springs might need to be reseated in the spring perches.

Also the rear of the P5 needs some washers (about 2 mm thick) under the topnut b/c it sits shorter than the sedan.

I have the espelir/illumina combo and after I installed everything it was fine then not long after there began to be a loud clunk noise coming from the back. I eventually ordered up new strut mounts cause I could feel the play in them. Installed those along with some new endlinks and the noise was still there so I replaced the swaybar bushings and the noise is gone. So check the swaybar cause even if you can move it by hand a little bit, under load it will make a loose noise.

Everything is buttery smooth now. Mine was the rear swaybar but this could apply for the front. You may want to put 1-2 washers under the top nut on all 4 corners so if there is any play in the strut mount it will hopefully be taken up by the washers. This is a little trick that works on the espelir/illumina combo.

I have a sedan but these tips should apply across the board.

The springs as well as struts are brand new